Question Thrown In At The Deep End

PhillD

Programming Experience
10+
I am really hoping someone can help me. I am a complete noob to VB 2008 though I have worked with MS Access, VBA and VB for 15 years.

I have been asked to write a system for employee to enter expenses. I’ve setup 2 tables in SQL, first the ExpenseHdr for employee, date etc… then ExpenseLines for the expense items to be added. I’ve setup primary Keys and a cascade update delete relationship between the ExpenseID which is stored in both tables.

I used the data sources tab and was able to create a Parent and Child grid and have them working perfectly!

Here’s the kicker. When they enter their Employee ID number into the employee ID box, I need VB 2008 to check if they have an open expense ticket and load it in the form. We cannot allow the user to browse through all of the other employees expenses so I have deleted the browse buttons.

To fix this, I edited the table adapter’s fill and GetData method with EmployeeID = @EmployeeID, however, when I load the form I receive the error: Argument not specified for parameter 'EmployeeID' of 'Public Overridable Overloads. It’s obvious why I’m getting the error because I can’t figure out how to set @EmployeeID in code. I could do this so easily in Access and VB but it seems illogical .NET. I am almost of the opinion that I should hand code the data management.