Thread Pooled Socket handling

Aia

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am very new to working with sockets so I have no idea if anything I am doing is correct.
I am working on a program that has a thread pool to deal with when something connects to a socket. I run into the problem of not being able to tell when the client has disconnected unless I intentionally create an error that occurs by trying to send something. I am not allowed to close the socket myself, the socket must be kept open so that more then a single packet can be sent. There is no set amount of packets either. I must keep the thread alive until the one who requested the socket disconnects.

Here is my code that is revalent. If you need something I failed to provide just tell me what and I will post it as soon as possible.

VB.NET:
Imports System.Net.Sockets
Imports System.net
Imports System.Text
Imports System.Threading

Dim portnumber As Integer = xxxx 'Incoming Port from Units
    Dim MainSocketThread As New System.Threading.Thread(AddressOf SocketThread)
    Dim sendport As Integer = xxxx 
    Dim something As New SocketException
    Dim something2 As New SocketError
    Dim asdf As Socket

Public Sub SocketThread()
        Try
            Dim sockettcpListener As New TcpListener(CType(Dns.GetHostEntry("xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx").AddressList(0), IPAddress), portnumber)
            sockettcpListener.Start()
            Try
                Dim i As Integer = 0
                While i < 1
                    Dim sockettcpClient As TcpClient = sockettcpListener.AcceptTcpClient()
                    ThreadPool.QueueUserWorkItem(AddressOf listenthread, sockettcpClient)
                End While
            Catch ex As Exception
                MessageBox.Show("Thread stopped running at " & System.DateTime.Now & vbNewLine & ex.Message)
            End Try
            sockettcpListener.Stop()
        Catch ex As Exception
            MessageBox.Show(ex.Message)
        End Try
    End Sub