search and replace text in a .txt file

xelior

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello,

I am new with VB.NET.
I want to search and replace some text in a .txt file.
For example:

In the textfile is the word #name#, this must be replaced by the name typed in a textbox in VB.NET.

I figured out how to put the text in a textfile but then it first cleans the whole file and places the text in the first line.

Can someone please help me?

Tnx

VB.NET:
Dim filePath As String = "file path here"
Dim contents As String = IO.File.ReadAllText(filePath)

contents = contents.Replace("#name#", myTextBox.Text)
IO.File.WriteAllText(filePath, contents)

Last edited:
error: ReadAllText is not a member of System.IO.File

Thanks for the quick reply, but when I use your script I get the following error :

ReadAllText is not a member of System.IO.File

Is this because I use 2002?

I hope to hear from you soon.

Tnx

If your primary platform is not 2005 then please change your profile to reflect that. If it is but a particular question relates to a different version then you should specify that. Noone likes wasting their time. This will work in all versions:
VB.NET:
Dim filePath As String = "file path here"
Dim reader As New IO.StreamReader(filePath)
Dim contents As String = reader.ReadToEnd()

reader.Close()
contents = contents.Replace("#name#", myTextBox.Text)

Dim writer As New IO.StreamWriter(filePath)

writer.Write(contents)
writer.Close()

I am sorry

Thxns fot the quick replay again.

I am sorry that I did'nt changed my platform in my profile.
I have changed it now.

Sorry

display and change text in text file

Hello,

I have asked how to change a word in a textfile.
This was possible and works very nice.

But now I have with the following problem:

In my textfile (unattended.txt) I have a line:
ProductID=XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXX

I tried to show this number in a (rich)textbox and than change it and save it but I can't get it right.