Question Saving, loading and using settings

nymm

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I'm working on a small-scale educational project for children to practice the conversion of metric units of measurement (e.g. 300 cm = ... m).

The program consists of a main form in which the exercises are displayed, and a settings form containing:

• a drop-down box with the names of the pupils (and optionally a button to modify the list of pupils)
  • checkboxes to select which physical quantities are to be tested (lenght, weight, volume, etc.)
  • for each physical quantity, a varying number of checkboxes to select which units are to be tested (mm, cm, dm, m, km, etc.)
  • checkboxes for some additional options, such as the use of fractions and combination exercises (160 cm = 1 ... and 6 ...)

The selected settings are saved for each individual pupil, to avoid having to reconfigure everything between each session.

Now, I am by no means a professional programmer. I always end up with a working piece of software, but the code behind it is usually somewhere between laughable and lamentable. So before delving into this project, I figured I'd better ask some advice first on how to go about things. Here's what I had in mind: