Question RichTextBox - Color Control

JaedenRuiner

Programming Experience
10+
Well,

At first I saw the property "SelectionBackColor" and "SelectionColor" but they don't seem to conform to how I'd want them to. Basically, I have manually set the colors (Fore & Back) of the control to initiate the default colors, as this is a SQL source input control on my form (and eventually i'll be doing some syntax highlighting) however, given the current colors of my control, when I select text, the selection background is barely a shade off my current background, which makes it a bit...difficult to see.

So I thought (given my background is Color.DarkBlue) to make my SelectionBackColor Color.Yellow. But it didn't work. When I select text it is still using the System.Highlight color. How can I define the "Global - This will be the SelectionBackground Color from here on out no matter what idiot idea gets into your head otherwise". :D

It appears from this the only way I can do the SelectionBackColor to work the way I want to, I have to listen for the moment any text is selected and then set the BackColor once the text is selected. I want to "pre-define" this value for "future selections" (if that is even possible)

Thanks

"System.Highlight color" is as you indicate a system setting, in control panel "Window Color and Appearance" they call it in Vista. SelectionBackColor is also as you figured out used to apply color to current selection.

I already understand that. I'm asking is there a built-in way to Set the RichTextBox's "Default Highlight Color" so I don't always have to listen for the Selection Changed event and keep changing the selection back color.

Basically, I know the SelectionBackColor or HighlightColor will ALWAYS be yellow for that control. is the only way to affect that change:
VB.NET:
private sub RichText_SelectionChanged() handles RichText.SelectionChanged
DirectCast(Sender, RichTextBox).SelectionBackColor = Color.yellow
end sub

Thanks