Questions about threaded VB.net

Juason

Programming Experience
Beginner
Greetings,

I am a rather new developer of threaded programs in VB.net. Currently my job is having me program a high speed serialized program. One requirement is being able to handle data at a very fast rate, while maintaining accuracy of thread timing.

In attempting to use Windows Timers, I find their accuracy to be poor (55ms or so). I downloaded several custom timers with microsecond accuracy, but unfortunately none of them give handles to tick events. They are just timer.stat, timer.stop, timer.getelapsed - wheras forms/system timers have a tick property and elapsed event.

So I have a while(running) loop to check my timers. Like all thread loops, I need to sleep the thread before looping to ensure I give up the CPU for a bit. Otherwise the 1 looping thread pegs the CPU at ~100%. I need something more accurate than the Millisecond sleep .NET provides.

So, does a Microsecond sleep function exist for VB.net?

I know Linux, Unix, and various C++ libraries have uSleep available. At least, I found some references to them when Googling. Thank you for any help you can provide me with.

Well it has been several months, and in that time I have had no luck discovering a means by which to finish this program off.

My program looks like this:

tMain() 'free running thread
{
starttime += 50 ' add 50ms to time

SerialHandler()
RunSequencer()
UpdateDisplay()
DumpData()
Wait(50, starttime)
}

The wait routine looks like this

Wait(delay, starttime)
{
while((usTimer.ElapsedTime - starttime) < 50)
Sleep(1)
}

Excuse my pseudo code errors. What I am looking to do is ensure this thread is run, on average, every 50ms. If windows results in this thread taking longer to execute than 50ms, or sleeps more than 50ms, it will run back to back to back to catch up.

In theory this should work fine, but in reality it doesn't. It is entirely too jumpy and lacks the accuracy I need.