Pulling date from AS400 screens

brgoss

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello everyone,
I'm still a beginner programmer with VB.NET. I've had a couple of semesters using it, so I know the basics. I've got a project that I'm trying to work on for my job that is slightly a bit beyond my knowledge of how to do. We're running an old AS400 system and my boss in my center wants me to develop a better premium calculator for our phone reps. The problem is that the IT department won't share out anything even as read only. So I have no idea how the data is stored on our systems. However, I have an idea that I might be able to do, but not quite sure which is why I'm here. I've got the code for a macro that is using VBA inside the program to pull information and then send it to a work document. It's not pulling from the database though, instead it runs through and uses the coordinates on the screen to retrieve streams of characters and input in strings and key inputs to navigate the screens to continue to retrieve the info. So what I'm wanting to do, if possible, is develop a program through .NET that will open the program, navigate the screens, pull the info from the streams into variables, and then compute.