program to show ascii code used?

defiance

Programming Experience
Beginner
dear all, i am a beginner so please bear with my unfamiliarity with terms that you guys may used here..

but I am trying out VB.net and is trying to make a program to
show the ascii code for every key press I made..
here is the coding i used..

Private Sub TextBox1_KeyDown(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As _ System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles TextBox1.KeyDown

TextBox2.Text = e.KeyValue
End Sub

this one seems to work fine, but I noticed that regardless of whether
I use "A" or "a", the ascii code shown is always 65.
last i checked small letters have their own ascii code, so "a"
should show a ascii of 97, not 65..

any help anyone can provide here will be appreciated..
thank you

You should probably follow the Blog link in my signature and check out my post on Keyboard Events for more info but, in short, the KeyDown and KeyUp events relate to keys on the keyboard while the KeyPress event relates to characters. If you're interested in characters then you should be handling KeyPress.

hmm.. i tried using button click though.

Label1.Text = Asc(TextBox1.Text)

that seem to work fine.. but it doesn't work for keypress or keydown..
guess i can't complain..

anyway, thanz for your reply, jmcil
:)

hmm.. i tried using button click though.

Label1.Text = Asc(TextBox1.Text)

that seem to work fine.. but it doesn't work for keypress or keydown..
guess i can't complain..

anyway, thanz for your reply, jmcil

That is not how you do it. As I said, read my blog post on the subject and you can learn how to use the KeyPress event properly.

Here's an example with KeyPress:

Private Sub TextBox1_KeyPress(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyPressEventArgs) Handles TextBox1.KeyPress
    TextBox2.Text = Asc(e.KeyChar)
End Sub

hmm..
i am pretty sure i tried that before..
i could be wrong..

I'll try it out tomoro..
thanz for the tip Josh
Peace