Populate Master/Detail data in Combo Box

rockronie

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello there,

I have a form with 3 combo boxes. The first combo box will populate the master records. if the user select any record from the first combo box the second combo box will populate the detail records.

Example Data:

Table: Building (Master)
Bldg_Code Bldg_Name
1----------Building Number 1
2 ---------Building Number 2

Table: Building_Floor (Detail)
Bldg_Code Bldg_FloorCode Bldg_FloorDesc
1---------------1---------Ground Floor
1---------------2---------First Floor
1---------------3---------Second Floor
2---------------1---------First Floor

Table: Building_FloorFlat (Detail)
Bldg_Code Bldg_FloorCode Bldg_FloorFlatCode Bldg_FloorFlatDesc
1---------------1----------------1----------Flat Number 1
1---------------1----------------2----------Flat Number 2
1---------------1----------------3----------Flat Number 3

I'm a beginner in vb.net, Hoping you can provide a source program solution.

Thanks,

Rock

Right, well i don't know about giving you a 'source program solution' but take these steps and get back to us if you get stuck.

Create the tables in whatever database you are using.
Create the connection string and test that it works.
Create a Dataset and put two datatables in it.
Fill your first table with the info from table buildings.
Set the datasource of combobox1 to datatable1 and set the value member of the combo to bldg_code
Make sure you can see the info in combobox1 when you run the app

Get that far and let us know if you have any problems and we'll be happy to help.

vis781

thanks vis781 here is the code below for you to check:
-------------------------------------------------
Dim oConn As SqlConnection = DBConn()
Dim da_Bldg As New SqlDataAdapter("SELECT Bldg_Code,Bldg_Name FROM HSE_Building Where Shared_Bldg='Y' and RecStatus='A'", oConn)