Question Passing Parameters to a Stored Procedure, getting results, but incorrect usage? :/

Flippedbeyond

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi all,

I consider myself to be a beginner to intermediate programmer, i'm pretty new to working with an access file through vb. This is of low priority since i am getting the results that i want, but i just don't understand why it's working this way. :confused: Any explanation would be much appreciated.

I have a MS access 2007 .accdb file that contains a query named addStudentRegistration with the following sql

VB.NET:
INSERT INTO Students ( Student_ID, FirstName, LastName, Type_ID )
SELECT Student_ID AS Expr1, firstName AS Expr2, lastName AS Expr3, getID_Type.ID
FROM getID_Type;

the code from my function to call this query

VB.NET:
    Protected Function storedProcedure(ByVal procedureName As String, Optional ByVal parameterValues As Dictionary(Of String, String) = Nothing) As Boolean
        Dim success As Boolean = False

If connectionFound Then
            Dim parameters As String() = parameterValues.Keys.ToArray()

Try
                Dim AccessConnection As New System.Data.OleDb.OleDbConnection(connectionString)
                AccessConnection.Open()

Dim cmd As New OleDb.OleDbCommand(procedureName, AccessConnection)
                cmd.CommandType = CommandType.StoredProcedure

If Not (parameterValues Is Nothing) Then
                    For Each parameter As String In parameters
                        cmd.Parameters.AddWithValue(parameter, parameterValues(parameter))
                    Next
                End If

cmd.ExecuteNonQuery()

cmd.Dispose()
                AccessConnection.Close()

success = True
            Catch ex As Exception
                success = False
            End Try
        End If

Return success
    End Function

Now the issue is that if i call this function and pass in the following

VB.NET:
        Dim parameters As New Dictionary(Of String, String)