Passing a complete array inbetween two forms.

muckmail

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am trying to find out how to create a complete array in form 1 and then transfer & use it in form 2.

Does anyone have any code showing that? Please note I am a beginner so please be complete.

I would like to know the proper way of doing this in which I guess properties get/Set statement
may be required. I am not good with properties get/Let statement but I will try.

I would also like to know the easiest way to accomplish this task if I get overwhelmed
with Properties Get/Set statements.

Thank you,

Passing variables and arrays between forms

Declare the array as Public in the first form.

VB.NET:
Public Class Form1

Public myarray() As String
    Public mynum As Integer

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        myarray = {"one", "two", "three", "four"}
        mynum = 5
        Form2.Show()
    End Sub

End Class

Public Class Form2

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        MessageBox.Show(Form1.mynum.ToString)
        For Each itm As String In Form1.myarray
            ListBox1.Items.Add(itm)
        Next itm
    End Sub

End Class

While what Solitaire has shown will work, it's not really the "proper" way. I would suggest that you follow the Blog link in my signature below and check out my three-part post Data With Multiple Forms. Part 3 is the most relevant but it's good to get the introduction to the less-correct alternatives in the first two parts.

On the subject of the array, an array is just an object like any other, so you treat it like any other object. If you know how to move a String around then you know how to move an array around.

So I should be able to move an array from one form to another as an object.
Ok, so here is my code.
Form 1:
VB.NET:
Public Class Form1
        Dim Myform2 As New Form2
        Form2.Show()
    End Sub