Opening a console

Bryan_James

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi!
I am a 100% newbie in VB.NET. I just wanted to ask, is there any way to open a console with windows forms? Okay. So what I am planning to do is to create a windows form that has two buttons. I want the first button to open a console application (that is also written in the same program). Is this possible? And, if yes, then how can I run console? And how and where can I code the console program to be executed? Thank you in advance! I'm really sorry, I'm a newbie.

It's a bit hard to tell what you're really asking for.
I want the first button to open a console application (that is also written in the same program).
I don't really know what that means. I'm going to give you some general information and we'll see if we can get to the root of the matter.

In .NET code, you can start a new process by calling the Process.Start method. The Process class is a member of the System.Diagnostics namespace, which is imported by default in a Windows Forms Application project and most, if not all, other project types too. Calling Process.Start is much like double-clicking an item in Windows/File Explorer. If you pass an EXE path then that EXE will be executed. If you pass the path of a data file then that file will be opened in its default application. You can even pass a URL to open it in the default browser. You can also pass commandline arguments, much as you can with shortcuts or typing directly into a command prompt in Windows.