Newbie publish/install error ??

odp

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a rank newbie and was hoping someone can help me,frankly i'm hoping to not have to get too involved in VB i just want to be able to build my new program and get on with my life but it's not cooperating , i have a project that goes thru debug & build np but when i try to publish it ..it says succeeded but when it tries to run it, it fails with runtime error, and when i check the /program files/programname/ folder it obvious why ( kinda ) it didn't finish the setup/install most files missing just created folders that's all ..what could be the problem any ideas....

the debug version in /bin/debug runs perfectly, there is nothing to " execute " in the /bin/release folder and in /publish/ there is an install file with the applications name on it, and in/application files/ there is the folders for that " version " with lots of deploy files and a manifest ...

can someone pls help me to figure out what's wrong .......

thks

Sheldon

Last edited:
Sheldon,

frankly i'm hoping to not have to get too involved in VB i just want to be able to build my new program and get on with my life

.Net is tough place to "not get too involved".

In your setup program, in the File System display, what do you show as the contents of your "Application Folder", "User's Desktop", and "User's Programs Menu".

From what you describe, you haven't configured your setup program correctly.

Bernie

re: install error

i agree with you but i was hoping :)

i'm sorry you lost me ummmmmm huh ? i just installed 90 day trial version 2 days ago.... :rolleyes: so it's quite possible it's not setup correctly.... " default" installation....

are talking about the publish "tab" and select application files ??? becuz i'm not quite sure what you mean by

"Application Folder", "User's Desktop", and "User's Programs Menu".

yes i know it's sad but pls bear with me :)