New to OOP - Need Validation

subaru_sti

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello.

I'm new to OOP and .Net and just need to make sure I am doing things correctly. Am I missing anything or are there better ways of doing this? Here is the first class I have written, for GSP coordinates.

VB.NET:
Namespace GPS
    Public Class Coordinate

Private _latitude As String
        Private _longitude As String

Public Sub New(ByVal Latitude As Double, ByVal Longitude As Double)
            MyBase.New()

Me.Latitude = Latitude
            Me.Longitude = Longitude
        End Sub

Public Property Latitude() As Double
            Get
                Return _latitude
            End Get
            Set(ByVal value As Double)
                If value > 90 Then Throw New ArgumentOutOfRangeException("latitude", "Latitude cannot be greater than 90.")
                If value < -90 Then Throw New ArgumentOutOfRangeException("latitude", "Latitude cannot be less than -90.")

_latitude = value
            End Set
        End Property

Public Property Longitude() As Double
            Get
                Return _longitude
            End Get
                If value > 180 Then Throw New ArgumentOutOfRangeException("longitude", "Longitude cannot be greater than 180.")
                If value < -180 Then Throw New ArgumentOutOfRangeException("longitude", "Longitude cannot be less than -180.")

_longitude = value
            End Set
        End Property

End Class
End Namespace

Stephen

According to Choosing Between Classes and Structures this should be a Structure.

According to Names of Parameters the parameters should be
VB.NET:
Public Sub New(ByVal [COLOR="Green"]latitude [/COLOR]As Double, ByVal [COLOR="Green"]longitude [/COLOR]As Double)
Why have you declared the private fields as type String? The type is Double, no? 'Option Strict' to 'On' will help you write better, explicit type code.
VB.NET:
Private _latitude As [COLOR="Red"]String[/COLOR]