MySQL Adapter.Update

NetPhi

Programming Experience
Beginner
hi,,, im new to vb .net... im using vb .net 2003 (1.1 Framework)

my delimma was to update my mysql (MySQL Server 5.0) database from my dataset. i have already downloaded and installed the .NET connector. i used the MySqlDataAdapter to update my database from all of the changes i've done in my dataset. i got an error message with that some sort of a table key (correct me if im wrong) or maybe a unique key (most probably a primary key). i've done so... i created a primary key from my table, and turn on the option autoincrement. but then it never autoincremented (or maybe i have missed something, and i never dare to use it), so i came into realization of creating the wheel myself.

i have a good try coding that for an hour. i think its easy to use without creating a unique key. my prototype as follows:

VB.NET:
    Function Update_Database(ByVal command As MySqlCommand, ByVal dataset As DataSet)
        Dim current_table_count As Integer = 0
        If dataset.Tables.Count > 0 Then
            While current_table_count < dataset.Tables.Count
                command.CommandText = "delete from " & dataset.Tables(current_table_count).TableName
                command.ExecuteNonQuery()
                If dataset.Tables(current_table_count).Rows.Count > 0 And dataset.Tables(current_table_count).Columns.Count Then
                    Dim current_row_count As Integer = 0
                    While current_row_count < dataset.Table(current_table_count).Rows.Count
                        command.CommandText = "insert into " & dataset.Tables(current_table_count).TableName & "("
                        Dim current_column_count As Integer = 0
                        While current_column_count < dataset.Tables(current_table_count).Columns.Count
                            command.CommandText &= dataset.Tables(current_table_count).Columns.Item(current_column_count).ColumnName