MSDE/SQL super newbie

rseyo

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello to everyone using SQL or MSDE. I am new to sql but have some experience using MS ACCESs and trying to learn sql.

My Questions are

- Whats MySQl? is this the same thing as MSDE or sql? i know MSDE is the smaller brother of SQL but what is this MySql?

- Is there user interface for editing the tables in Sql/MSDE? like in Access?
I ve installed MSDE on my pc and know that its working fine coz i did some tutorial and manage to populate a datagrid.(pubs.dbo) and can see the tower with the play button by my clock.

- I also tried to populate a datagrid in a windows application using vb.net and msde but having a hard time to populate it. when i run the app it only showd the header of the data. same with my combo box.

Thanks in advance!

To answer your first 2 questions:

Mysql is an Open Source Database Project which is platform independable. This means it can run on Unix an Linux systems as well as Windows. This is free for use as long as the usage doesn't generate any profit, if it does you have to buy a commercial licence.
MySql is also very well applicable with PHP and the other way around.

There is no GUI for MSDE, but a nice trick is when you download the Sql Server 2005 Express Edition (which is also free and the latest version of sql server) you get an GUI administrator tool. The beauty of this tool is that it can also connect to existing MSDE databases! So you could download this and install only the client tools if you choose.

The other question I'm not going to answer because I should test this and frankly I haven't got the time to do this.

I'll tackle the remaining question. Honestly, it could be a number of things. Can you include the code where you are populating the grid? Sometime later today I plan to post a tutorial on my site that shows how to use ADO.NET and connect to a database to retrieve information.

-tg

TechGnome said: