Migrating Fortan call from VBA to .NET

Sneezo

Programming Experience
1-3
Hello all

I'm a newbie to the forum and somethign of an amatuer - programming is not my primary discipline although I dabble occassionally.

I'm currently trying to interface some Fortran routines into a 3rd party environment by creating a VB.NET DLL. I don't have accessto the Fprtran code because its considered proprietary.

As a starting point, I demonstrated that I could make the call satisfactorily from VBA using the following code:

======================================================
Declare Sub INTERFACE_VB Lib "C:\FortDir\FortFile.dll" _
(ByVal SV As String, ByVal intSV As Long, _
ByRef IV As Long, ByRef RV As Single, ByRef intIERR As Long)

Dim SV As String * 5120
Dim IV(1 To 1280) As Long
Dim RV(1 To 16000) As Single
Dim IERR As Long

[set up arrays]

Call INTERFACE_VB(SV, Len(SV), IV(1), RV(1), IERR)

Now, to get the same thing working in .NET, I nede to make some changes:
1. Arrays rebased to 0
2. Use Integer instead of Long because of the change in size
3. No fixed length strings

However, I just can't get the Fortran to return the same values! I have made many attempts, with the following being typical:

Declare Sub INTERFACE_VB Lib "C:\FortDir\FortFile.dll" _
(ByVal SV As String, ByVal intSV As Integer, _
ByRef IV As Integer, ByRef RV As Single, ByRef intIERR As Integer)

Dim SV As String
Dim IV(1279) As Integer
Dim RV(15999) As Single
Dim IERR As Integer

[set up arrays]

Call INTERFACE_VB(SV, Len(SV), IV(0), RV(0), IERR)

Because I am unable to debug the Fortran I am finding it very difficult to work out where the error is:

- Is it to do with string characters - Unicode vs ANSI?
- Is it to do with array handing?
- Do I need to specify marshaling?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!