Menustrip and TabControl next and previous

antrew80

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys,
i am new to VB and i have the follow question.
I have a menu strip with next and previous buttons
i also have a tab control with several tabs and i want to navigate to each tab with my next and previous button from the menu strip
if i use
VB.NET:
 TabControl1.SelectTab(1)
i go to the next page and if i use
VB.NET:
 TabControl1.SelectTab(0)
i go to the previous page.
what about if i want to move to the 3rd page and go on
attached is a screen shot of my program.is in greek but you can get the general point

thanks

Attachments

• menustrip.jpg
    menustrip.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 76
Hi,

Just create a Private Class Level / Member variable to hold the current index of the page that you are on and then increment or decrement that variable each time you want to move up or down a Tab page. You then set the SelectTab Method of the Tab Control to that index. Just make sure that you check to make sure you are not going beyond the Lower and Upper bound of the Tab page index first which will be set at Zero and TabControl1.TabPages.Count – 1.

Hope that helps.

Cheers,

Ian

hi Ian can you please help me with the code because i dont know how to do your suggestion.
not all the code. at least how to do the class level / mebmer.

thanks a lot

Hi Ian,
i found another way to it but i have a problem so maybe you can help me also on this
VB.NET:
 TabControl1.SelectTab(1)
         If TabControl1.SelectedIndex = 3 Then
        TabControl1.SelectTab(+1)

i use the code above to go the next tab but when i am in 4th tab and i press next button it goes to 2 tab and not in the 5th.
any idea why?

thanks also for your help

Hi,

i found another way to it but i have a problem so maybe you can help me also on this

No, I will only help you to do it the right way and not some concocted method you seem to have come up with using +1???? Using +1 is the same as saying 1.