Question MDI vs SDI

chilekitty

Programming Experience
5-10
Hi,

I’m new to vb.net and am developing in VS 2008. In the past, I’ve developed in both MDI and SDI environments with VB6. I know it depends on what you want your application to do but since .net is a whole new beast, I was wondering (after some research) if there is a ‘proper’ or ‘better’ way to develop in VB.net these days when it comes to MDI or SDI environments (or both??)? I see all kinds of opinions and comments but we definitely want to go with what will be the better way in .net.

A bit of what we’d like it to do:
- have a common tool/menu bar
- open multiple windows and have control over the open windows
- be able to ‘undocked’ or open a window (SDI?) from the parent that is ‘floatable’ but retains the common tool/menu bar

I’ve read up on some ways to develop in SDI to make it seem MDI (using inheritance, global collection, etc…). And I have found some samples for doing what is needed in MDI but they were in C++ (can it also be done in vb.net ??).

Please let me know if more information is needed. Thanks in advance for any advise or info.........

You can do MDI apps in .Net far easier than you could in vb6. Btw MDI (Multiple Document Interface) and SDI (Single Document Interface) has nothing to do with any specific language.

It sounds like you're looking to develop an MDI application that has the ability to dock some of the windows to the sides of the parent and whatnot. Here's one explanation: Docking windows in MDI : dock, mdi, window