Loading the correct localised file

garcon

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 13, 2004
Messages
47
Programming Experience
Beginner
Folks,

In my code-behind file "a.aspx.vb" I can detect the language a user is using using the following:

VB.NET:
[size=2][/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]If[/color][/size][size=2] baseCulture.Equals("EN") [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Then[/color][/size]
[color=#0000ff]   [/color][size=2][color=#008000]' Load English file[/color][/size]
[size=2][color=#0000ff]ElseIf[/color][/size][size=2] baseCulture.Equals("FR") [/size][size=2][color=#0000ff]Then[/color][/size]
[color=#0000ff]   [/color][size=2][color=#008000]' Load French file[/color][/size]
[size=2][color=black]
[/color][/size]

Problem is though how do you load up the applicable localised file to the front-end page? I'm not usre now to do this...
Can anyone makle any suggestions/comments/code-sampelas please?

Thanks,
G


 

TPM

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
623
Location
CA
Programming Experience
3-5
If your using a seperate page then: responce.redirect("englishpage or frenchpage")
 

JuggaloBrotha

VB.NET Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,524
Location
Lansing, MI; USA
Programming Experience
10+
i'm probably wrong here, but i know the framework comes with language packs, couldnt you have one page (built in english) but on language detection have it switch the language pack so it'd be in French, German, etc... yet you only have 1 page to maintain (or 1 set of pages)
 

garcon

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 13, 2004
Messages
47
Programming Experience
Beginner
Merci TPM - perfect

JuggaloBrotha - thanks - looking inti this now.

Thank you both
G.
The happy one
 

TPM

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 7, 2004
Messages
623
Location
CA
Programming Experience
3-5
JuggaloBrotha said:
i'm probably wrong here, but i know the framework comes with language packs, couldnt you have one page (built in english) but on language detection have it switch the language pack so it'd be in French, German, etc... yet you only have 1 page to maintain (or 1 set of pages)
Yes I'm sure there's a way to do something like that, I just don't know it :)
Perhaps some sort of style sheet...
 

JuggaloBrotha

VB.NET Forum Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 3, 2004
Messages
4,524
Location
Lansing, MI; USA
Programming Experience
10+
TPM said:
Yes I'm sure there's a way to do something like that, I just don't know it :)
Perhaps some sort of style sheet...
and if garcon doesnt come up with sometime within the next month or so, i'll start looking into it (yea, i know i'm too busy right now)
 
Top Bottom