Is VB.net the best tool for this?

Aziah

Programming Experience
5-10
Hi,

I have this product in mind, which I plan to develop. The product have the following features:

1. The final product will be delivered in the form of a CD.
2. It's auto execute
3. User have to install the application into his/her pc, to use it. It can't be runned directly from the CD.
4. The application runs on window, not a browser. However, the application can be converted into web-enabled application without much modification.
5. The application includes a database of content, which can be updated via the internet. The database should reside in the user's computer.

I'm still considering for the perfect tool/language to use. At the moment, I'm thinking of using Flash and php. But php needs a web server like Apache to run. I don't want to make it a hassle for non-IT user to install it and to configure it.

Another thought is JAVA. I've used the language but not an expert in it. As for VB.net I'm very new to it. Hopefully someone could help me on this.

Whatever the tools/language , I'm willing to explore. But, I want to go for the best one that can meet the above five requirements.

I do really appreciate any recommendation. Thanks in advanced.

Thanks ManicCW for the response. But there is still some questions in my head. I have a feeling that VB.net has no problems in meeting the requirement of no.1-3. But for no.4 and no.5:

No.4....the application can be converted into web-enabled application without much modification.

Does it need ASP.net? Must I convert it into ASP.net to make it web-enabled? Or is VB.net itself is web enabled? Can you clarify on this. Does Vb.net needs IIS to make it web-enabled?

No.5 The application includes a database of content, which can be updated via the internet. The database should reside in the user's computer.