Question Insert Into Error

ggunter

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm a VB6 programmer trying to get a handle on .NET and I'm really hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

My insert sql statement is as follows:
VB.NET:
sql = "INSERT INTO tblMTDadjust (Lend, ManagerAcid, AssocAcid, Month, " & _
"Day, Hour, Minute, Region, Unit, Activity, Symbol, AdjHour, " & _
"AdjMinute, AdjustedDate, EnteredDate, RunningProgram) " & _
"VALUES(@lend, @mgracid, @acid, @month, @da, @hr, @min, " & _
"@region, @unit, @activity, @symbol, @adjhr, @adjmin, @adjdate, " & _
"@entereddate, @procnum)"

The add new row statement appears to work okay but when I try add data to the row I receive the following error message: "Syntax error in INSERT INTO statement".

At first, I thought there might be a typo in the statement so I copied the field names directly from the table into my code.

Then, I checked the net for the error code. There were a few entries and they all said that I needed to add a value for every field but my code is already doing that.

Then, I checked the details of the error message and found the following: "In order to evaluate an indexed property, the property must be qualified and the arguments must be explicitly supplied by the user.". I checked the table but there are no indexed fields in the table.:confused:

Please help. I'm out of ideas as to where to look next.:eek:

The places I've seen syntax for this statement there is a space between VALUES and (, does that make a difference?

Thanks for the quick reply John.

Unforetunately, the added space did not solve the problem.

It, then, dawned on me that I had neglected to put in an UPDATE statement. Since you add a row and then update it, I thought that might be causing the problem. However, the same error message still occurs.:(

Have you verified that you are not using any reserved keywords in column names? These must be escaped with [...].