Answered How to Know What Kind of Exception to Catch

aychekay

Programming Experience
3-5
I realize this is probably a very elementary question. I'm using VB.Net 2008 to write an Outlook Addin and I'm very confused about what to put in my Catch block. How am I supposed to know what kind of exception object to try to catch in my catch block? Are exceptions relative to something? Will I catch one type of exception one time and a different type the next time?

I've already read through Daniel Turini's wonderful article on Exception Handling Best Practices over at CodeProject but that still didn't answer my question.

Sorry, my background is mostly Access VBA so VB.Net looks like some complicated monster although I'm sure I'll grow to like it over time.

Last edited:
First of all, you shouldn't be using a Try...Catch block at all if there isn't a reasonable chance that something can go wrong. While your application should have a single global exception handler, i.e. the UnhandledException event of the application, to gracefully handle all unanticipated errors, you shouldn't be adding Try...Catch blocks just in case. You need to understand what could go wrong with your code and why, and that will tell you whether to catch exceptions at all and, if so, which one(s).