munish

Programming Experience
3-5
Hi friends,

I have 3 years of experience in vb6.0 and now moving to VB.NET. I just
want to know which are the areas should I emphasize more while moving
from vb to vb.net. How much different it is from usual vb. I can understand
there will be some syntactical changes.

Can vb.net learned alone without even touching ASP.NET.

I think ASP.NET is for developing for web applications but can an application
coded completely in vb.net be deployed on IIS.

How much time do u guyz it would take me to learn vb.net .

Thanks,
Munish

i had 2 years of vb6 when i started vb.net and the #1 advice i can give you is to only remember the vb6 logic, as in remember how a vb6 program would run logically, forget the vb6 syntax and everything else because that will only hinder your learning of .net

there are a lot of things that are similiar between .net and vb6 but that's it, they're only similiar, not the same

as for vb and asp, if you're into web programming you can make asp.net applications in vb but you dont have to, in vb.net you can still make normal windows applications like vb6 can. i'd suggest starting with normal windows applications instead of asp.net stuff, but that's just me

i started learning vb.net 3 years ago (i actually took two vb.net classes at my local college too) and i'm still learning things about .net almost everyday...

also welcome to the forums

Thanks for the response mate.

I am actually both asp and vb programmer and have developed the
n-tier applications using COM+ . Like developing business logic in
vb dlls as components and using them in ASP.

I actually refering wrox Professional ASP.NET 1.1 and others ebooks but
I am very confused to where to start with. I want to do pure vb.net
programming but after looking at the code of ASP.NET I am totally
confused to start with which language.

As you have suggested me to start with vb.net , the advice come to me