How do I filter a DataGridView?

agroom

Programming Experience
Beginner
I'm developing my first app in VS 2005 (previous experience is in VB 6). I'm making a simple form that has a DataGridView with a BindingNavigator. All the bindings are setup in design. My question is, am I able to filter the DataGridView using a SQL statement?

I only have 1 table I'm reading from. In the BindingNavigator I made a quick search by putting a dropdown box with all the fields, then a textbox and search button. The user would chooses the field and enters what to search in the textbox. So basically I'm creating a SQL string from those two criteria, but need to know where to add that into my code.

I'm still pretty new to the DB Access controls for vb.net, so my knoledge with the DataSet, BidingSource, and TableAdaptors is very basic. Does anyone have a link to a tutorial that explains these well?

Okay, I figured out my problem. I had the correct code, I was just not referencing the correct field names in the table.

Me.TblLogFileBindingSource.Filter = SearchString

However, now my issue is refreshing the datagridview to view the full table again. This is what I have but is not working:

Me.TblLogFileTableAdapter.Fill(Me.LogBookDataSet.tblLogFile)
Me.TblLogFileDataGridView.Refresh()

Any help is appreciated!

Youre refilling the datatable needlessly - it still contains all the data it did before.. And the datagridview still contains the filter you set before.. So to remove the filter..

MyDataGridView.Filter = Nothing

It's a kickself one :)

Thanks, that worked perfect!
I found this works also:
Me.TblLogFileBindingSource.RemoveFilter()

I do have one last question (I hope!). I'm having issues saving to my database. I have the following code which I took from an online tutorial:

Me.TblLogFileBindingSource.EndEdit()
Me.TblLogFileTableAdapter.Update(Me.LogBookDataSet.tblLogFile)