Help with marshaling

eddie74

Programming Experience
5-10
Hello forum members,
I hope I am posting in the correct place.

I am relatively new to the .net frmework, but i LOVE IT. I was die-hard to upgrade from vb6, but I am glad I did.

Here is my problem. I am useing visual studio (vb.net) 2005. In my app, I use an API call to retireive a list of file object handles from a portable media device useing the Media Transport Protocol. ( I know what the handles of the files actually are becuase I use the direct MTP tool to show me what they are.) Here is API call I use:

Sub GetObjectHandles(ByVal StorageId As UInteger, ByVal FormatCode As MtpLib.MTP_FORMATCODE, ByVal ParentObjectHandle As UInteger, ByRef pcelt As Integer, ByVal ppObjectHandles As System.IntPtr, ByRef pResponseCode As MtpLib.MTP_RESPONSECODE)

And here is how i use it:

'Imports
Imports
MtpLib
Imports System.Runtime.InteropServices ' I added for marshaling

Public MTP AsNew MtpLib.WindowsMtp

'Decalres
Dim pCelt As Integer
Dim objHandles as IntPtr
Dim resCode as MtpLib.MTP_RESPONSECODE

'In my sub

MTP.GetObjectHandles(65537, 0, 0, pcelt, objHandles, resCode)

When I run the code I get this error :

"AccessViolationException was unhandles" - "Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt."

I figured this was because the IntPtr variable needed to be marshaled. Problem is HOW? I don't know alot about marshaling. Can some please try and describe some working code for me? I have completed the entire program by designing around static object handles. It would really be nice to get all the files at runtime you know?

Also,

I know the storage id is correct (because I used it successfully in other API calls in the app)

AND