help with coding program

dave1816

Programming Experience
Beginner
hey im new here and newish to vb.net which im studying at uni. Ive created a code which calculates students grade points and displays the No of cat points they have got alltogether. An example of this would be if they got 13 -15 then they get a first for that module and they would get 1 displayed in a textbox , if they get another then they get two....and so on....

anyway geting back to the point, i have to display the highest, lowest and average grade point and not sure which is the easyest way to do this based on the code ive pasted below. I was thinking an array but i dont understand the feature, although knowing what it can do. i also have a secound form which i will not paste on here as it only display the results of the variables ect "firstclass" in a text box. Anyway any ideas what approach i should take to carryout the calculations? p.s havn't named the controlls yet as im lazy,lol yet there aint tat many.

VB.NET:
 Public Class Form1
    Public firstclass As Double
    Public Uppersecound As Double
    Public Lowersecound As Double
    Public Thirdclass As Double
    Public fail As Double
    Public Totalresults As Double

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

End Sub

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Dim results As String

results = TextBox2.Text

results = check(results)

Totalresults = Totalresults + results

If RadioButton1.Checked Then
            calculate15(results)
        End If

If RadioButton2.Checked Then
            calculate30(results)

Else
            MsgBox("Please select a total score your grade is marked out of from the point grade option box e.g. 15 or 30")
        End If

End Sub

Private Function check(ByVal checkresults) As String

If IsNumeric(checkresults) = False Then