Free memory used by dataview

ctiwari

Programming Experience
Beginner
Free up memory used by dataview

Hi All

I am using VB.net and I have several csv files that I need to sort and manipulate in simple ways (add & sum columns, etc.). I am currently using a dataview to load these files into the memory and then perform some simple operations on the data before writing it out as a file.

I have multiple files (and these are quite big - 100mb or so each) and I'd like to clear up the contents of the dataview (or free up memory??) after I process each file. I couldn't seem to find any info on how to do this. I'm not really a programmer and any help in this regard will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Chetan

FYI my code looks like this:

' create a data view to help sort and compute weights
Dim dvdistance AsNew DataView(inputDS.Tables("table1"))
dvdistance.Sort = "gridid, distance"
// do my manipulations here
// write out to file

---> I'd like to clear up the memory used by the dataview dvdistance at
---> this point!

Dim dvdistance AsNew DataView(inputDS.Tables("table2"))
dvdistance.Sort = "gridid, distance"
// manipulations for the second dataset here
// write out to file

As soon as you dereference the first dataview by setting dvdistance equal to a new instance of DataView, the first one will be marked for garbage collection. However, (someone correct me if I'm wrong here) I don't believe the DataView is actually holding any of the data. Your DataSet is holding all the data. The DataView is merely giving you a filtered view of the data. So, the only way you are going to free any memory is by killing the DataSet.

Thanks mjb

I tried doing what you suggested and it seems like the tables are being removed from the memory (I do a count to see how many were there originally and then if they are still in memory after i remove them). The dataview is being emptied when i use the dataview.dispose() method.