Dynamic buttons made with an array and called by addhandler

DPCOLE

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello. I am fairly new to VisualBasic .NET (2008). I'm creating an application that, when a number is entered into the textbox, a new form window is created and populated with buttons.

Each button starts the same command, but with a different parameter (the parameter being the pertinent record number found by the search).'

The records are asset tag numbers.

The procedure works fine if there is only one result.

But the search allows for partial numbers and that's where the trouble begins.

If two or more results are found, each button is configured with the last number found. The button being clicked doesn't tally with the proper ID number. (Note: Each button made displays the record number found. )

Here's the code and I'll explain other aspects of it:

VB.NET:
                For Each Line In File.ReadAllLines(fileSpecX)
                    Dim pcArray As String() = Line.Split(New Char() {","c})  'strips ALL after the first value's comma - in this case all domain info after the computer name - one dimensional array
                    j = pcArray(i).Length
                    Dim btn(i) As Button
                    pcArray(i) = pcArray(i).Substring(4, (j - 4)) ' truncates "CN=

' removing textbox and dropdown
                    '                    Form3_PC_buttons.foundPcComboBox.Items.Add(pcArray(i))
                    '                    fullScreen = fullScreen + pcArray(i) + Environment.NewLine ' populates display for textbox

' Form3_PC_buttons.btn(i) = New Button
                    btn(i) = New Button
                    btn(i).Location = New Point(k, l)

btn(i).ForeColor = White
                    btn(i).BackgroundImage = My.Resources.blue

btn(i).SetBounds(k, l, 80, 20)

btn(i).Text = pcArray(i)

Form3_PC_buttons.Controls.Add(btn(i))

' fill "dummy" value to be carried over, as delegation currently works only with one variable being crossed over.