Question Drag and drop to retrieve file names?

davidfes88

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys,

I am a beginner, but I've managed to make a program. I need help with the following if possible...

My question is, how can I implement a drag and drop of images into my program? I only need the file names of these images. So basically, user can select a few images, and drag into my program, and then I want the file names of those images to be displayed onto different text boxes.

So image 1 file name onto text box 1
Image 2 file name onto text box 2
etc...

Thanks!
Dave

In that article read at least the "How Drag and Drop Works" and "Dragging Files" sections.
Hmmm. I can't really understand it
Hmmm. Try again. You can't find a simpler filedrop sample than that, and the article explains things in simple terms also.

@davidfes88
Also this might be useful for you too.

VBForums - View Single Post - Drag Drop files from windows into VB.NET

===================================================================================================================

@JohnH
btw I have a question I'd like to ask for help from JohnH. Don't mind the fact that I didn't start a new thread because its regarding the original question. I'd be grateful if you could help me out.

This question got me interested since I haven't worked with drag and drop operations before so I tried it out. This is the UI.

2-15-2012 11-22-36 PM.png

I got it working except I have a small problem. If I drag and drop from an image straight from anywhere, it works. But that Select Image button invokes a OpenFileDialog. It doesn't work that way if I click that and browse a folder and drag an image through that. I suppose that's how OpenFileDialog works. Only opens a file. I just wanna know is there any way to overcome this issue. A different control perhaps? FolderBrowserDialog doesn't help since it only look for folders. Any other way?

Thanks a lot. :)