Disappearing Tools

JEofVA

Programming Experience
1-3
I hope this is the correct forum for my question, which is....

Why would the tool box suddenly be empty? And, where have all the tools gone?

Here's the background:

I had my version of VS 2008 Express on an older laptop that I was using for a standalone project I was building in my spare time (I'm new to VB). I had just finished the main piece, and was about to start working on both expanding its capabilities, as well as developing some auxillary programs that were designed to process the data that the first project created, when the laptop started showing signs of rapid decay. Everything was backed up, so I bought a new laptop and reloaded it with all the data from the first, including reinstalling VS 2008 Express.

For the first few weeks everything seemed to be okay, but then I noticed that some of the Database routines in the Toolbox where missing when I tried to use them in a new project. Notably, OleDBConnection object and a few others weren't in the list. I tinkered around with trying to get them back by going into the Tools => Choose Toolbox Items... dialog, but that didn't seem to help.

Now, after a 2 week hiatus, I find that when I open any of my projects, the Toolbox is completely empty. There is not a button, lablel, or checkbox to be had.

As far as I can tell, everything in the Choose Toolbox Items dialog under the System.Windows.Form Namespace is selected, but I still have no tools in the Toolbox. Any idea of what I should do next? (Pulling hair won't help.... it's long gone.) ;)

Thanks in advance for any assistance,

Jonathan

OleDbConnection hasn't been in the Toolbox by default since VB.NET 2003, so that wouldn't have been there anyway unless you added it yourself. I would try right-clicking the Toolbox and selecting the Reset option, then customising it to your liking again. If that doesn't work, you might need to re-install VB Express to repair it.