Question DELETE Code And Control Transfer Thru Enter Key

Ashfaque

Programming Experience
Beginner
:)Hi,

I am quite new to DOT NET environment.

I use develop MS Access dbs for small shops and establishments. I could say I got success in vba codings in a smooth way.

I recently turned towards DOT NET environment. My net framework ver is 3.5and I installled sql server 2005 & Studio 2008 on my laptop.

I started developing a small db for a shop that contains 2-3 forms. I wrote codelines to add & modify record successfully.

I have 2 questions here.

I am trying to write code to DELETE record after calling on form thru a combo with below simple code but produces error.

Private Sub CmdDelSupp_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles CmdDelSupp.Click

conn.Execute("Delete * from T_ProductMaster where ProdCode = '" & Val(TxtProdCode.Text) & "' and ProdName='" & Val(TxtProdName.Text) & "'")

End Sub

The error display at conn line is: COMexception was unhandled

[Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server]Incorrect syntax near '*'.

Whats wrong here.

I want to transfer control from one text box to another (next in tab order) thru by pressing ENTER key and not by Tab key which is bydefault

I know in VB I use to write KEYCODE=13 then..... but dot net is diff than what I learned in VBA of Access and Visual Basic.

Please extend your help.

With kind regards,
Ashfaque

1. SQL Server syntax is "DELETE FROM", not "DELETE * FROM"

2. The following code will move focus to a named text box, but I am sure you can adapt it to change to the next by tab order.
VB.NET:
    Private Sub FIRSTTEXTBOX_KeyUp(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.Forms.KeyEventArgs) Handles FIRSTTEXTBOX.KeyUp
        If e.KeyCode = Keys.Return Or e.KeyCode = Keys.Enter Then SECONDTEXTBOX.Focus()
    End Sub

Also, Val will take a string and convert it to numeric.