Creating a dll for use in word xp vba

dchapin

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi,

I am very new to Visual Studio 2008 (like a week). I have done a fair amount of VB6 programming as well as VBA and most of the web languages. This has got me stumped, if not by the method then certainly by the lack of help I can find on the subject. (Ive googled into unconciouseness).

I have a very robust amount of VBA code which is used for a toolbar word application. My users are Word XP, Word 2003 and now 2007, My app is working fine for all of these folks. I want to protect my code a bit more by placing my modules into a vb dll. I have tested some of my code in VB6 and it all works fine, however I would rather port over to a dll created in Visual studio 2008.

I have performed all of the steps that I can find to do this, starting with a simple import into Visual studio (works fine) which creates the dll and works perfectly fine when referenced and used in VB6, however when I reference the tlb using word xp VBA, I can see my dll, but when run, I get a dependency error. I have check to be sure that the Register for COM interop checkbox is checked before build. My subs and functions are public.

I guess at this point after days of trying and trying, I am looking for A:) some direction, B:) to be told it is not possible, C:) i'd be happy to get a "It's possible, but were not gonna tell you" . I just cannot figure out whats going on here. As I said, my dll/tlb works fine in VB6 just not at all in word xp or 2003, It DOES work in word 2007.

Any help or direction you can provide would be greatly appreciated.
Dan

Been There Tried That

Hi John,