Question Create new record in main table and simultaneously create new record a child tables?

jazzglenn

Programming Experience
Beginner
Little something about me: First of all I'm really really bad at VB.Net and I hope you'll forgive me on my "newbiness" about this topic, I'm more of PHP and MySQL that got stuck up with VB.net on a very very important project. Also I've been using tutorials at this youtube page since the day i got the project, mind this: I have no background about VB.NET, and I Hope you guys could help me.

payrol.png
This is what my database look like, and yes I am recklessly showing my ERD to show how desperate I am on getting this done.

Anyways, the scope of the problem is:
1. the table "tbl_emp_sal" creates a new record for a payroll.
2. table "tbl_emp_sal" is clumped up bunch of FK's or Foreign Keys from PK's on other Different tables.
3. BUT, creating a new record for table "tbl_emp_sal" requires the other tables like "tbl_mba", "tbl_com", "tbl_dempcc", "tbl_tax" to create a record as well
4. I only need "tbl_mba", "tbl_com", "tbl_dempcc", "tbl_tax" to create a Primary Key that will directly connect to the main table "tbl_emp_sal" through Foreign Key.

in short: When the main table creates the new record the child tables create a blank record with its PK's sent to the main table.

I hope this is not much to ask for a solution. I really hope thread will get answers soon.

P.S. I've been using a lot of tablebindingsource's and Tableadapters soo much that sometimes i just get lost in what i'm doing. Yes this requires a face plam moment, but do please help :(

I'm not quite sure what the problem is. If you want to create records in the other tables then just go ahead and create them. Once they are created, get their IDs and then create the record for the other table. What part of that are you not able to do?