Console App - MultiThreading with Database access

fishberg5051

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hey everyone, I have a question in regards to Threading an console app (as the title describes).

Here is my situation: I currently have an access Database that gets populated by a third party utility with a bunch of data, ID's, and hex messages that contain a bunch of data. My project consists of writing a parser that will grab those records in the access database, convert the hex to ascii (which is already done) and insert it into a sql tables.

I'm new to multi-threading and bought a book and have been working on a few things. I got as far as I can using a thread pool and have my classes written to pass an arugment into the class when the thread gets innitiated.

So going further into explination: I want to inniate one thread per record (so 500 records = 500 threads) then when it gets to the point of converting my hex value into ascii there is usually 5 to 27 different values derived from that value and I want to create a thread for each value, so potentially I will have about 2000+ threads running, but with proper management and killing them when I'm finished with them that shouldn't be a problem should it?

Can anyone give me an idea of what I can try to get this accomplished. I have posted below sections of my code. Currently the application works, and it takes 4.5 minutes to parse 500 records and insert the 5-27 records per parent record into sql. Ideally I want to do this in under a minute if at all possible. Thanks in advance, and sorry for the lengthy post.

VB.NET:
'how I'm calling my first class using a thread pool
[SIZE=2]Console.WriteLine([/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#800000]"Thread A: "[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] & RecordCount & [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#800000]" initiated"[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2])[/SIZE]