A simple question..how do I load another form

diverdan

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi there

As you can tell from my question im very new to vb.net

I have been playing around and have 2 forms.

The first form is form1.vb and the 2nd is form2.vb.

I tried adding a button to the form and added this code to it but it doesn't work.

VB.NET:
Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Form2.Show()
        Me.Hide()

End Sub

Can someone please tell me what I need to change.

Thanks for your help

Hi again,

I have another question regarding loading another form.

The above method worked fine but I have just been playing around with the properties of a project and changed the first form to load when the project opens.

When I try use the above code to load a form the editor does not reference my other form automatically.

How do I use this code to reference another form?

Any tips would be great.

Thanks again!!

Hi Dan :)
if you wanna open a form from your main form ( eg : open Form2 from Form1 ) & them to ' talk ' to each other etc...
you need to modify the constructor of the other forms ( not the main form you open, just the others )
eg:
VB.NET:
[FONT=Courier New]'/// modify the constructor of the other form ( in this case Form2 )[/FONT]
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff][FONT=Courier New]Public [/FONT][/COLOR][/SIZE][FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Class[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New] Form2[/FONT]
[/SIZE][FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]   Inherits[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New] System.Windows.Forms.Form[/FONT]
[FONT=Courier New]   #[/FONT][/SIZE][FONT=Courier New][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Region[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] " Windows Form Designer generated code "[/SIZE][/FONT]
[SIZE=2][FONT=Courier New]   [COLOR=seagreen]'/// this will allow you to access whichever form called you ( eg : Form1 )[/COLOR][/FONT]