wage calculator HELP

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi there im very new to VB.net. However ive bee told its the best place for me to start if i want to program a small application for use with my family business.

Basically i want to be able to enter the type of employee. Either (Manager, Help Desk or sales) and the system to output the amount i should pay them based on the hours they work in a week.

I pay my Sales people: £6.43 per hour
I pay my Help desk emoyees: £5.63
I pay my manager: £8.23

Please any help would be appreciated, ive purchased a VB.NET book, but i have no idea where to start. Thankyou

Are you going to be keeping these records for a significant period of time? Part of me wants to say go for a database like Access etc. But i can't help thinking it's overkill in this scenario unless this is going to grow into a bigger application. If not then writing it out as Xml should suffice here. You need to do some reading on Datasets/Datatables and Databinding. The Dataset can write Xml and persist the information you have entered to disk and it can also read Xml to bring the changes back for review.
Simply plonk a Dataset onto the form and add a table to it. Add 4 columns (all this can be done form the designer, No code to write) First column to keep track of the WeekEnding (point of reference to check disputes etc) second column can be for your Manager, etc.. etc... Add some Textboxes (for hourlyrate, hours worked, total pay for each employee) and bind them to the appropriate datatables columns. See how you go to get that far and then we'll move on.

nah im not bothered about keeping the records or storing them, i just want to make a simple calculator, and im sure that i want to use VB.NET to do it. Apparently i should use an IF statement for the 3 tpes of worker, but im struggling to do this.