Validate textbox

tpistol

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hello - I'm extremely new to VB but appreciate any help you can offer.

I am trying to validate input in a textbox where a GPA is entered. I want to give the user an error message when he/she does not enter anything or enters a number that is not between 0 and 4. I have done a keypress event to limit the characters that can be entered to numbers, backspace, and the period and this is working fine.

I'm doing this as a function and this is my code so far:

Function IsGoodInput(ByVal number As String) As Boolean
If txtgpa.Text = "" Or Val(txtgpa.Text) > 4 Then
MsgBox("Please enter a number between 0 and 4.", "Input error.")
txtgpa.Focus()
Return False
Else
Return True
End If

I've tried this a few ways and I either get a conversion error or an invalid cast error. Thank you for any assistance.

Why aren't you using the NumericUpDown control?

I have to concur with JohnH but, if you're determined to use a TextBox, here's how. Firstly, you need to decide on prevention or cure. If you choose prevention then you should be handling the KeyDown event so that you can stop any invalid data ever being entered into the control. If you choose cure then you should be handling the Validating event, which will prevent the user leaving the control if it contains invalid data.

Also, I recommend never using Val. You should preferentially use the TryParse method of the numeric type that you want to convert to, e.g. Double.TryParse.

Here is a little example that I threw together that uses the TextBox.Validating event to check the input and if there is a problem, it uses an ErrorProvider to display a relevant message. Notice that I've also handled the TextBox.Validated event which is needed to clear the ErrorProvider if it was previously displayed due to invalid input.

VB.NET:
Public Class Form1

Private Sub TextBox1_Validating(sender As System.Object, e As System.ComponentModel.CancelEventArgs) Handles TextBox1.Validating