Using GDI+ to create an LED

Blake81

Programming Experience
1-3
I'm really new to GDI+, in fact I just started looking into it today. I want to create a custom control (LED) to use on my forms. I found an example of using the gradient brush, and I think that would probably work to give me the lighting effect I want on the LED. I just don't know how to use it properly. Basically, I want to draw a circle and use the gradient brush on it with the colors red and white. If at all possible, I'd like it also to have a beveled edge around the circle, like the picture below (I know it won't look that good). Could someone also give me a quick pointer about where to put the code to redraw the LED with a different color depending on it it is "lit" or "unlit"? Thanks. I really appreciate any help.

red.jpg

I've accidentally discovered something here that looks promising. I was playing with one of the examples that Kulrom posted awhile back, and I've created a circle on a form that uses the gradient brush. I know this isn't in a Windows control project yet, but I'm still experimenting. I'm trying to get it to load that image as lime green when the form loads and then change it to green when I click a button to see if it looks like a lit and unlit LED. Right now, it's not showing it at all on load and then changing to lime green on button click. Here's what I have.
VB.NET:
[SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Public[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Class[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Form1
[/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Private[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Sub[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Button1_Click([/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]ByVal[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] sender [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] System.Object, [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]ByVal[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] e [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]As[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] System.EventArgs) [/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=#0000ff]Handles[/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2] Button1.Click