Updating Child Tables

chad101

Programming Experience
3-5
How do you display, add, insert, and update a child table which has its fields displayed in text boxes on the same forum as the parent table?

I don’t want to use a datagrid for the child table. Everything is correctly bound to their respective tables. If I attempt to update the child table, it only works if I’m on the first record in the database.

EDIT:
I’m very new to ADO.NET. I just purchased a copy micorsoft ADO.NET core reference.

I have two tables, Log and Comments

Log:
logID
logDate
customerName

Comments:
commentsID
logID
comments

As you can see tbl Log and Comments have a one to many relationship. Although I treat it as a one to one, i.e. I only allow one comment per logID.

My forum navigation works fine. Comments are displayed for each logID record that holds a comment. The comments are placed in a multi-line textbox; not a datagrid. My only problem is UPDATE, INSERT, and DELETE. I can only perform these query types on the first record on the forum. If I navigate to the next record and attempt to update or insert a new record with comments, my changes are never saved to the database.

Last edited:
Read the DW2 link in my signature, section "Displaying Related Data" and also "Saving Related Data"

Thank you cjard,

I'm going to complete this tutorial. It calls for VS 2005, I only have 2003. If i encounter any problems with this difference I'll do some searching first before i post a follow up question.

Quick "non related" question - I have a friend who said he was only using "one" data adaptor and dataset for an entire (multi-table) database. Is this possiable? I thought you needed a data adaptor for each table?