truncated error

cameronxt

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi all, im new to this forum and to VB.net programming, i have some previous experience in c++ but not a significant amount. anyhow...

I am making a program for my auto shop that keeps track of several pieces of information. When im attempting to update my sql server with the input data for a new record on my customers table i am getting this error:

An unhandled exception of type 'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlException' occurred in System.Data.dll

Additional information: String or binary data would be truncated.
The statement has been terminated.

then under my "autos tab" during debugging it says in red:

+ PhoneText {Text = ""} System.Windows.Forms.TextBox
+ objCmd.Parameters.Item("@PhoneNumber").Value "System.Windows.Forms.TextBox, Text: " {String} Object

i am not certain what this means, i though maybe i was sending the table the wrong data type and tried several different ones to no avail. Here is my code for this particular section

VB.NET:
Private Sub btnAddCustomer_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button4.Click
        'cnn.Open()
        Dim sSQL As String = "INSERT INTO Customers " & _
          "(FirstName, LastName, City, State, Zip, Phone#)" & _
             "VALUES (@FirstName, @LastName, @City, @State, @Zip, @PhoneNumber)"
        Dim objCmd As New SqlCommand(sSQL, cnn)

objCmd.Parameters.Add("@FirstName", SqlDbType.VarChar)
        objCmd.Parameters.Item("@FirstName").Value = FirstNameText.Text.ToString

objCmd.Parameters.Add("@LastName", SqlDbType.VarChar)
        objCmd.Parameters.Item("@LastName").Value = LastNameText.Text.ToString

objCmd.Parameters.Add("@City", SqlDbType.VarChar)
        objCmd.Parameters.Item("@City").Value = CityText.Text.ToString

objCmd.Parameters.Add("@State", SqlDbType.VarChar)
        objCmd.Parameters.Item("@State").Value = StateText.ToString

objCmd.Parameters.Add("@Zip", SqlDbType.VarChar)