Question Too many DataSources in one form not good?

bullsquad

Programming Experience
3-5
Hi,

A simple question. I am new to Data Binding in VB.NET. I want to know if an application would take a performance hit if there are too many data sources associated with a form in VB.NET.

My data comes from 4 different tables so I have created 4 different data sources but not sure if there will be a performance hit.

Thanks in advance

The more resources you require the more management is required; so the statement is too broad; yes of course you'll take a performance hit.

It's not uncommon to use multiple data-binders; personally I think that is the lazy way.

If you want an efficent clean approach; use one binder and hot-swap it in code run-time it's more organized; and unless you have data that is semi-permenant it's not going to affect anything.

Personally, I am a quirky developer compared to some, I never like to use more then I need and I will always approach a problem from a more difficult solution then the lazy drag a drop process.

Go back to the basics as a developer is my recommendation

Always dispose of what your not using.
And never create more then what you will use.

It depends exactly what you mean by "data sources". If you mean that you have set the DataSource of four different controls then that's not a problem at all. If you mean you have added four items to the Data Sources window then that is a problem. Four tables in one database is one Data Source.