Thoughts on practices

kdbarrett

Programming Experience
5-10
Hi, I'm hoping to get some general feedback on coding practices I'm encountering. First, some background. I've been a developer for about 15 years, mostly contracting, and have worked in various technologies, languages, etc. VB, C#, SQL, Crystal Reporting, etc. As with many contractors, I'm a "jack of all trades, master of none" as the saying goes.

I'm currently working with a client's VB.Net code, which was developed for them by a small development shop a few years ago and which they purchased and have been maintaining and uprgrading since. This client's primary developer is out on indefinite (likely permanent) medical leave and I'm now filling in until they bring in a full timer (as I'm a contractor here).

My current task is to add some functionality to a the VB.Net code they purchased. I'm finding practices and techniques in the code that absolutely baffle me and can't make the code do what I want. I'm starting to wonder if it's me and was hoping to get some thoughts on the code I've encountered. For example:

Setting a variable to accept the result of a function by calling the function with many parameters, clearing the parameters in the function, setting them to some value, calling another function with those new values, then never using the values returned by the functions.

I'll add a code snippet in the first comment since this is already getting long. I appreciate anyone's patience in slogging through this...

VB.NET:
sValue = FunctionOne(sCol1, sCol2, sCol3, sCol4)

Private Function FunctionOne (ByRef sCol1 as String, ByRef sCol2 as String, ByRef sCol3 as String, ByRef sCol4 as String)
  sCol1 = ""
  sCol2 = ""
  sCol3 = ""
  sCol4 = ""

If APreviouslyDeterminedValue = "something" then
    sCol1 = "a"
    sCol2 = "b"
    sCol3 = "c"
    sCol4 = "d"
  Else
    sCol1 = "z"
    sCol2 = "x"
    sCol3 = "y"
    sCol4 = "w"
  End If

FunctionOneSub(sCol1, sCol2, sCol3, sCol4)
End Function