Question Store dating in windows app

roary86

Programming Experience
1-3
I'm new to desktop applications. My goal is simple: A user enters in their first name, last name, email address and phone number. They hit submit, it verifies they entered in proper data and then it stores the data into a local db inside VS. I have never used data sets and table adapaters before so I'm having trouble storing the data into the local DB can anyone help? Thanks

Perhaps you could tell/show us exactly what you are currently doing and what happens when you do it. There's no point our providing an end to end explanation when you probably already have most of the pieces in place.

Well that I have so far is the project with a windows form that has a First Name, Last Name, Email Address, and Phone Number text boxes with a submit button.

I also have a .MDF file that I created inside Visual Studio 2008.

I also have a DataSet.

My goal is to use the DataSet to insert the information of what the user has entered into the text boxes.

Thats the part im stumped on is how to take that information and use the data set to insert it into the DB.

I hope this exlpains more.

You need to first add some components to your form from the ToolBox. You'll need an instance of your DataSet, an instance of the TableAdapter that corresponds to the table that contains the data you want to display, and you'll need a BindingSource.

Select the BindingSource in the designer and open the Properties window. Select the DataSet as the DataSource and set the DataMember to the appropriate table.

Select a TextBox and open the Properties window. Expand the DataBindings item and select the Text property. Select the appropriate column from the BindingSource as the value.

Create a Load event handler for the form and, in it, call Fill on your TableAdapter and pass the appropiate table from your DataSet.

Now run the application and show the form and you'll see the first record from your result set.