Step by step to deploy VB.net project.

damxuanthai

Programming Experience
Beginner
I have read all threads in this topic (deployment) but I'm still don't know clearly How to deploy a Vb.net app using SQLdatabase.
AnyBody can show me step by step How to deploy. I want to make a msi file to install my app in other PC Which don't connect to Internet.
Thanks alot.

Im a newbie, and I learn Vb.net by myself
Due to me. Steps to deploy:
Step 1: Add a deployment project (choose "Add to solution") in the same app (solution) which We want to deploy.
Step 2: Make and build a deployment (ourApp.msi file). without SQLserver.
Step 3: Embed MSDE to ourApp.msi file, to setup SQL server on target PC. Use Orca.exe (v1.5 beta with UI)
Step 4: Attach database to server Which We installed on step 3
Step 5: Run app and have fun :D.
In five step below I dont know how to do Step 3. I have download Window install SDK, which contains Orca. in this I have orca.exe version v1.10 and I can't found "Merge module" to embed MSDE vào file msi.
Please tell me how to solve and other ways to deploy?.
----------
Link help from MSDN: Embedding MSDE 2000 Setup into the Setup of Custom Applications.
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa902673(SQL.80).aspx

I'm not sure about this but I believe the destination PC has to have SQL Server already installed as well. If not your application will have to reach the internet or intranet to access YOUR SQL Server. BUT! Don't qoute me on this because I am not positive. Hopefully someone else can jump on here and confirm or correct me. Anyways, I was just reading your other post with the error message "SQL Not Installed" or somthing like that and then I read this one where the app won't be reaching the internet and I think that's the situation. I don't think you can attach SQL Server to an installation but only the database in which it uses maybe.