SQL statement for date field > DateTimepicker

Blue Steel

Programming Experience
10+
Hi guys. I'm new to VS (an old VB6 programmer), and I'm really struggling with this. I've googled until I'm blue in the face with no joy.

I'm sure it's a very simple solution. I've spent hours with no luck.

Basically, I have a table that contains a date field (Access 2007 database, and I'm using VB). I have a form with DateTimepicker1 on it for user selection.

I'm then trying to create a dataset with an SQL statement that looks to see if the table date field (FDOB1) is a later date than the DateTimepicker value.

VB.NET:
sql = "SELECT NAME,SURNAME,FNAME1,FDOB1 FROM BTUC where FNAME1 <> '' and FDOB1 > " + "'" + _
        DateTimePicker1.Value + "'"

Any help would be appreciated, as it's a bit of a showstopper at the moment (aren't they all!)

Al

Moved?

Jeez, I run a couple of my own sites with vBulletin, and I posted in a wrong forum?

I did say I was old lol

I've spent the time since my original post trying the sql statement with loads of different date format statements and still no luck. This isn't a bump, just letting you know that I haven't cracked it yet. If I do I'll post the resolution, but don't hold your breath! :rolleyes:

Please dont take this the wrong way, but you havent actually posted what your problem is. Is it throwing an error? Is it just not returning any records? As has been said many times on this board, we arent mind readers ;)

Try the following:-

1. Run the query in Access. What does it give? Look at the SQL view of the Access query. What does it say? Does it give the results you expected?

2. After your sql = " line, try:-
VB.NET:
Messagebox.Show (sql)

What does it say? Is it the same? If not, problem found ;)

Solution:- Use parameterised queries. See the link in my signature.

Hi and thanks for your reply.