SQL server name?

SmokyRick

Programming Experience
Beginner
I am totally new to this database stuff. I am working in Visual Studio 2017 trying to link a database with a program. The name of the SQL Server seems to be a problem. I get the following exception when I try to run the program.
ExceptionUnhandled.jpg
From this and other errors I am thinking I have the name of the server wrong. However, I have no idea what to name it. I used SQL Server Configuration Manager and found I have 2 servers on this computer. They are "SQL Server (SQLEXPRESS)" and "SQL Server (MSSQLSERVER)". I can't seem to find a good way to let VB know the proper name. Can anyone help?
Thanks in advance for any and all bits of knowledge.

I don't think that I've ever seen a Data Source of "(LocalDB)\SQLEXPRESS". If you have actually installed SQL Server Express then you probably need ".\SQLEXPRESS" or "(local)\SQLEXPRESS". In those cases, "." and "(local)" both refer to the local machine, whereas "(LocalDB)" refers to s specific type of SQL Server instance. If you check www.connectionstrings.com, you'll see that they use "(localdb)\v11.0" in there examples, which would have been for SQL Server 2012. I have SQL Server 2016 installed and for me it's "(LocalDB)\MSSQLLocalDB". What I did to see that was add a new Service-based Database to my project, which is a SQL Server MDF file, and then opened that Server Explorer (or Database Explorer), right-clicked the database and selected Properties, then looked at the Connection String property.

I should also point out that MSSQLSERVER is the default instance of SQL Server, so you can connect to that using just the machine name, i.e. ".", "(local)" or the actual name of the machine. I'm not sure whether non-Express instances allow attaching files on demand as I've never tried it. If you do try and it works, please post back and let me know.