SMTP mail, Unable to connect

Loin75

Programming Experience
1-3
Hi,

I am new to VB.net, and new to the forum - so hi to all...

I am starting from the beginning and learning the basics, and at the moment I am testing the feature of sending an email via the pressing of a button on a form. The app is simple and internal to my network, and would use my Outlook client and my Exchange server.

I have seen many examples on the web, but all of them generate errors.

The following seems to be the simplest, and generates only one error: {"Unable to connect to the remote server"}

VB.NET:
Imports System.Net.Mail

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button3.Click

Dim Mail As New MailMessage
        Mail.Subject = "test email"
        Mail.To.Add("me@me.com")
        Mail.From = New MailAddress("me@me.com")
        Mail.Body = "Test email"

Dim SMTP As New SmtpClient("192.168.0.100")
        SMTP.EnableSsl = True
        SMTP.Credentials = New System.Net.NetworkCredential("myusername", "mypassword")
        SMTP.Port = "25"
        SMTP.Send(Mail)

MessageBox.Show("Your message was successfully sent.")

End Sub
End Class

Can anyone please guide me. I also think that I need to insert some references, which I haven't learnt yet - such as SMTPclient, or MailMessage. Do I need to "add" something?

Many thanks for all your patience and future help...

Loin

Try commenting out the SMPT.Credentials line in your code.
And you should wrap the SMTP.Send line in a Try/Catch block too.

Thanks Juggalo.. i don't understand the use of the Try catch function. Can you please give me an example for my context?

Cheers

Try
  SMTP.Send(Mail)
Catch ex As Exception
  MessageBox.Show(ex.Message)
End Try

Thanks. I had actually just tried that exact code shortly before you posted. I also commented out the credentials like you suggested.