Simple introduction to VB.Net required

BenJervis

Programming Experience
10+
Hi all

I am new to VB.Net, so please be gentle. I am natively an ASP.Net developer and wish to make a windows application to use in my place of business.

Requirements:

I have a database with a number of records in. I need to loop through these records in my application and list them in a particular order. I need a button next to each of the records to navigate through to another page for more information on the record. This list needs to be updated every n. seconds.

Where I am up to:

I have a timer which runs correctly every 5 seconds.
I have a successful database connection and have written a class to iterate through any records I tell it to. This is working as expected.

The problem:

I am attempting to use the following to write out my controls to the screen:

VB.NET:
        For Each DR In SQL.Exec("sp_GetList").Tables(0).Rows

Dim oPanel As New Panel

Dim oLabel As New Label
            oLabel.Text = DR("Record_Name")

Dim oButton As New Button
            oButton.Text = "View"
            oButton.Anchor = DR("Record_ID")
            oButton.Left = 100
            AddHandler oButton.Click, AddressOf DoButtonClick

oPanel.Controls.Add(oButton)
            oPanel.Controls.Add(oLabel)

pnlList.Controls.Add(oPanel)

Next

No matter what I try, each panel is overlayed on top of the last. I have tried adding a dynamic "top" (oPanel.Top = iTop / iTop += 30) to each panel which increases every time it iterates through the records, but this had no effect.

Thanks in advance. Do let me know if I have not provided enough information.

Ben

That's not a good approach. If you want to repeat a set of controls then you should do one of two things:

1. Use the DataRepeater control.
2. Create a UserControl and then add instances to a TableLayoutPanel.

Hi, thanks for your reply.