Question Serial Port Communication (Ports dont show up)

andicom

Programming Experience
Beginner
Hi guys, first of all I'm not very good at programming and I've tried to be as explanatory as possible in my codes. I've been trying to write a program which enables a user to chat (recieved & transmit) messages via Serial Port using a simple custom made IR modem. I've constructed the modem and now trying to write my own simple program instead of using Terminal or other already written program (i.e. Tera Term). Btw, I'm on Windows 7 and using the Microsoft Visual Express 2010 Environment

I've written the codes below, based on the tutorial at this site.
Tutorial Site

as well as this microsoft website for reference (putting it here just in case)
MSDN Serial Port Class reference

Problem (as of now)
The combo boxes cmbComPort doesn't seem to catch any available ports on my computer. I suspected that probably there is none! So I checked and here is what I found. Based on this, I assume there is a Serial Port on my computer and hence this is not the source of the problem (Let me know otherwise, because I'm not really sure). I run the debug and an error message popped out. I then build the program to test it out. Both error messages are attached below

Questions
1. Are my codes somewhere wrong? or is it my computer? Please show which part is the error
2. Is there anyway to beutify the codes? (make it shorter, simpler, that would be nice)